Up Until Now…

After I graduated in June I traveled around Europe for a month with my two roommates, Sarah and Allison, and a group of other recent UCSB grads. The trip was amazing, we hit ten countries (which almost made the trip exhausting!) including: England, France, Brussels, Holland, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Lichenstein, Italy, and Greece. As a history and food lover I can easily say that Paris and Rome were my favorite cities and I will definitely be going back to both at some point. When I got back to the States at the end of July it was time to start my job search.

As a Communications major I have always wanted to pursue a career in marketing but I still was not sure what I specifically wanted to do. I knew I wanted to work on the more analytical, business/management side of marketing rather than the creative but I still wanted to know more about the daily tasks of certain positions. I began by positing my resume on LinkedIn and on Monster, applying for entry level marketing positions. I quickly got a lot of responses for outside sales positions due to my experience as an Account Executive. I knew I did not want a career in sales but I had been told by some that in order to get to the positions I wanted (I still only had a vague idea of what that was however) I would need to put in my time doing sales for a year or two to gain experience. I understood and accepted this as I believe that in order to achieve something worthwhile one must work hard and start from the bottom. As a result I spent a couple weeks interviewing with four different companies for outside sales positions.

During the time I spent interviewing I was meeting with a contact in the marketing industry who provided me with invaluable information. From her guidance I was able to determine that I wanted a career as a marketing strategist or project manager. With these positions I would be able to work with a variety of department and compile research and data that would contribute to the marketing campaigns. I would be able to work on the campaigns dealing with the statistics and analytical data that would help shape the creative aspects. She explained that for strategist and project management positions I did not need to start in sales. While this was good news it also left me with a choice to make. I had just finished the third interview for an outside sales position which was an all-day field interview and was basically guaranteed the job. I had to decide if I should take the sales position that was in front of me right now because

1. It’s a job (a valuable thing in today’s economy)

2. I could stop feeling like such a bum

3. What if I don’t get the positions I want and am left with no job

or do I put my excitement and motivation from figuring out what positions I actually want into an even more aggressive job search because

1. It’s what I actually want to do

2. I will push myself everyday to make sure I am a competitive candidate

3. When (not if) I get the job I will continue to push myself each day to learn and grow as much as I can

I decided to take the risk. And this is where I currently am. Today begins my hunt for a position as a marketing strategist, project manager, or a more entry level position where I will be able to grow into one of those positions. This blog will outline my journey throughout that process. It will discuss all of the social media articles I feel are worth sharing and my experiences in interviews as I learn more about what it takes to make it into the marketing industry. I may be relatively inexperienced but I am young, motivated, and most importantly am integrated with and proficient in social media, utlizing its value.

Leave a Reply

