Who You Know

I had a doctor’s appointment yesterday and one of the questions on the forms asked what my occupation was. I ended up putting student down despite the fact that I am not because I could not bring myself to write ‘unemployed’. When the doctor called me back and we started talking she asked if I had graduated and I laughingly explained my actions. She immediately went into a long discussion about how there are currently no jobs out there for college grads and how her daughter is a college senior this year and she is already worried about her for next year.

We started talking about how, for the most part, its not what you know or how many internships you held in college, it is all about who you know. Now, its not like Steve Jobs is my uncle or something. I have not been hiding some ridiculously fantastic connection away in the closet. I do have to admit though that up to this point I have been too proud to ask the people in my life (the ones with actual jobs) if they knew anyone that might be able to help.

The thing is, that I totally believe the saying “it’s not what you know, it’s who you know”. And that works just fine for my friends. Problem is that I have not been ok with applying that mentality to myself. For some mixed up, psychotic reason I have felt that it doesn’t count for me if I don’t do it on my own. I tend to expect much more out of myself than I do others, which is normally fine, but in this case it could be hurting me greatly.

So I have decided that it’s time to become a little bit more humble and admit that I COULD USE A LITTLE HELP and that admitting so does not make me any less of a person or any less qualified of a candidate. Maybe in some twisted way it’s actually a lesson that makes me a better candidate because I have realized that sometimes in order to accomplish a goal you do need other people to help you, you can’t do everything on your own, and that is perfectly ok. There is nothing wrong with not being a super person.

With this in mind I have started talking to a couple people I know, just ordinary people, and I am going to keep talking to people. Admitting to them that hey, this was harder than I thought, I am open to any advice or help you have. And who knows, maybe they have a friend who has a friend that knows that one special person that is going to take a chance on a girl like me. A girl that learned it was ok to ask for help.

Leave a Reply

